Skip to content

Shakespeare Retold: Macbeth Jo Nesbo

33952851

Book Worm has been reading through the Hogwarth Shakespeare retelling series. Next up for her is a modern-day retelling of Macbeth by master of suspense/thrillers, Jo Nesbo. The book comes out today in the US. Check out her review and let us know what you think.Macbeth by Jo Nesbo
Published in: 2018
Reviewed by: Book Worm
Rating: ★★★
Find it here: Macbeth

This ARC was provided by Random House UK (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Netgalley: He’s the best cop they’ve got.

When a drug bust turns into a bloodbath it’s up to Inspector Macbeth and his team to clean up the mess.

He’s also an ex-drug addict with a troubled past.

He’s rewarded for his success. Power. Money. Respect. They’re all within reach.

But a man like him won’t get to the top.

Plagued by hallucinations and paranoia, Macbeth starts to unravel. He’s convinced he won’t get what is rightfully his.

Unless he kills for it.

Bookworm’s Thoughts: This was another solid 3 star read for me and a great addition to the Shakespeare Retold series. You can see that Nesbo has really thought about the source material and how to update it to a modern setting. There are one or two instances where the action and behaviour of the characters feels forced (probably due to attempts to follow the nature of the original text), but overall this is good action-packed ride.

Even if you have read or seen Macbeth and know how the story is going to end, this book will still have you turning the pages and looking for a different outcome for the central characters.

Fans of Jo Nesbo and Macbeth will find this a suitably bloody retelling. Think of it as Breaking Bad in book form.

Who would like this? I would recommend this to anyone who is following the Shakespeare Retold series, fans of Jo Nesbo, and those who don’t mind their books bloody.

Want to try it for yourself? You can find a copy here: Macbeth

We want to hear from you! Have you read this book? What did you think? Is this a book you’d want to read?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Barb Saffer #

    I like the Hogarth series and thought this was a good addition (though a bit longer than it needs to be).

    Liked by 1 person

    April 16, 2018

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: